Timeline: Program in Ethnomusicology, Department of Music


The American Indian culture area was established when Charlotte Heth was hired by the Music Department.


After 1974, new roster faculty continued to be hired by the Music Department to teach ethnomusicology and systematic musicology courses. These included: Charlotte Heth (1974-94); Nazir Jairazbhoy (1975-94); A. J. Racy (1978); Jacqueline Cogdell DjeDje (1979); Warren Pinckney (1981-89); Sue Carol DeVale (1983-91); Roger Kendall (1984); Steve Loza (1984); Tim Rice (1987).


Between 1974 and 1986, the Council on Ethnomusicology served as the administrative structure for the Program in Ethnomusicology. Council chairs during this period included: Boris Kremenliev (1974-76), Peter Crossley-Holland (1976-79), J. H. Kwabena Nketia (1979-82), Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy (1982-1983), A.J. Racy (1983-85), James Porter (1986). From 1986 to 1988 the Division of Ethnomusicology served as the administrative structure for the Program in Ethnomusicology. Division chairs included: James Porter (1986-87), and Nazir Jairabhoy (1987-88).


In 1979-80, “The Development of Rock” (Music 159) first appeared in the General Catalog with Stevenson listed as the instructor.


In 1983 the Archive was awarded its first grant, entitled “Computer-Aided Archive Access: A Pilot Study Using the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive,” by the National Endowment for the Humanities. The purpose of the grant was to increase bibliographic access of the Archive's holdings with full MARC cataloging. To see other grants the Archive has received, go to Archive Grants.


The first issue of the graduate student journal, Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology (PRE), was published in 1984; the journal’s name was changed to Ethnomusicology Review in 2011.


Draft proposal for the establishment of an autonomous “division” of ethnomusicology within the Department of Music was prepared by Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy, D.K. Wilgus, and Jacqueline Cogdell DjeDje. The Division of Ethnomusicology and Systematic Musicology was created, with James Porter as the first chair, followed by Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy.


A letter was submitted to Chancellor Charles Young from Division Chairs James Porter and Nazir Ali Jairazbhoy, which argued for an independent Department of Ethnomusicology and Systematic Musicology in the proposed new College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences, or a restructured College of Fine Arts.

New M.A./Ph.D. Program in Ethnomusicology


On December 30, 1987, Chancellor Young agreed to a proposal by the Committee on Reorganization of the then College of Fine Arts.


Pete Seeger spent the week of May 9-13, 1988 as the first Regents Lecturer. A number of other well-respected musicians have served as Regents Lecturers over the years.


On May 24, 1988, the UCLA Academic Senate approved the plan for the reorganization of the College of Fine Arts. The plan called for a realignment of several departments, including the separation of the art, design, and art history departments, and separation of the ethnomusicology, music, and musicology departments.


Effective August 15, 1988, UC President Gardner approved the reorganization of the four departments of the College of Fine Arts into nine departments: the Art Department, the Art History Department, the Design Department, the Dance Department, the Ethnomusicology and Systematic Musicology Department, the Music Department, the Musicology Department, the Film and Television Department, and the Theater Department.

New Department

Go to Institute of Ethnomusicology (Previous)
Go to Department of Ethnomusicology and Systematic Musicology (Next)